Become a Member
Become a Member

Photograph of Fred C. Lee
Fred C. Lee
Position: University Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Office: 648 Whittemore Hall, Virginia Tech
Phone: 540-231-7716
Fred C. Lee received his B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan in 1968, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Duke University in 1972 and 1974, respectively.

Dr. Lee is a University Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Founder and Director Emeritus of CPES, a preeminent academic center in power electronics research at Virginia Tech. As CPES Director, Dr. Lee leads a program that encompasses research, technology development, educational outreach, industry collaboration, and technology transfer. CPES focuses its research to meet industry needs and allows industry to profit from the Center's research and outputs. The CPES program enables its Principal Plus industry members to sponsor graduate fellowships and provides the opportunity to direct research in areas of mutual interest, as well as the ability to access intellectual properties generated collectively by all industry-funded fellowships on a royalty-free and non-exclusive basis. To date, more than 250 companies worldwide have benefited from the industry partnership program. The center has been cited by NSF as a model ERC for its industry collaboration and technology transfer, education, and outreach programs.

Dr. Lee's research interests include high-frequency power conversion, magnetics and EMI, distributed power systems, renewable energy, power quality, high-density electronics packaging and integration, and modeling and control.

Dr. Lee holds 105 U.S. patents, and has published 338 journal articles and 793 refereed technical papers. During his tenure at Virginia Tech, Dr. Lee has supervised to completion 88 Ph.D. and 94 Master's students.

According to Microsoft H index, Dr. Lee is rated among the top three best cited authors for over 2.5 million engineering authors in the world.

Honors & Awards:
2019 - Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award
2018 - National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellow
2017 - Power Supply Technology Outstanding Achievement Award, China Power Supply Society (CPSS)
2017 - Honorary Chair Professor of Tsinghua University, China
2015 - IEEE Medal in Power Engineering
2014 - Honorary Chair Professor of National Chiao Tong University, Taiwan
2013 - Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Engineering, People's Republic of China
2012 - Top 3 best cited author in engineering (Microsoft H-Index)
2012 - Inaugural member, Virginia Tech Entrepreneur Hall of Fame
2012 - Academician, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
2011 - Member, U.S. National Academy of Engineering
2011 - Honorary Li Kwoh-Ting Chair Professor, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
2006 - Guest Professor, Hefei Industrial Technology University, People's Republic of China
2005 - Ernst-Blickle Award, SEW- Eurodrive Foundation
2004 - Outstanding Alumni Award, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
2004 - Honorary Professor, Xi'an Jiaotong University, People's Republic of China
2004 - Advisory Professor, Shanghai Jiaotong University, People's Republic of China
2004 - Advisory Professor, Beijing Jiaotong University, People's Republic of China
2002 - Consulting Professor, Harbin Institute of Technology, People's Republic of China
2001 - Honorary Sun Yuen-Chuan Chair Professor, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan.
2000 - IEEE Third Millennium Medal
2000 - Advisory Professor, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, People's Republic of China
1998 - University Distinguished Professor, Virginia Tech
1998 - Founder and Director, Center for Power Electronics System (CPES), a National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center (NSF ERC)
1998 - Arthur E. Fury Award, Power Conversion and Intelligent Motion (PCIM)
1997 - Guest Professor, Tsinghua University, Beijing, People's Republic of China
1997 - Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
1995 - Lewis A. Hester Chair of Engineering, Virginia Tech
1992 - Honorary Professor, Nanjing Aeronautic and Astronautic University, People's Republic of China
1992 - Founder and Chairman of the Board, VPT Inc., Blacksburg, Virginia (1992-2009)
1992 - President, IEEE Power Electronics Society (1992-1994)
1990 - Who's Who of American Inventors
1990 - Virginia Tech Alumni Award for Research Excellence
1990 - PCIM Award for Leadership in Power Electronics Education
1990 - Honorary Professor, Shanghai University of Technology, People's Republic of China
1990 - Guest Professor, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, People's Republic of China
1990 - Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineer (IEEE)
1989 - William E. Newell Power Electronics Award, IEEE Power Electronics Society
1987 - Director, Technology Development Center, Virginia Center for Innovative Technology (CIT), Virginia.
1986 - James S. Tucker Endowed Professor, Virginia Tech
1985 - Ralph R. Teeter Educational Award, Society of Automotive Engineering
1983 - Founder and Director of the Virginia Power Electronics Center (VPEC) and the VPEC Industry Partnership Program, Virginia Tech

Our Industry Partners